KLUIN PATENT

Intellectual Property

OUR TEAM

DR. Thorsten Weber

Dr. Thorsten Weber holds a doctorate in physics, is a German Patent Attorney and a European Trademark and Design Attorney.

 

 

Areas of Expertise

Dr. Weber is in particular active in the fields of electromobility, general mechanical engineering, automotive engineering, and consumer goods.  He possesses extensive experience in all areas of intellectual property law.  His core competence is focused on obtaining, defending and enforcing technical and non-technical intellectual property rights, the search and analysis of possible third-party infringement of intellectual property rights (i.e., “freedom-to-operate” opinions), as well as in defending against third-party intellectual property rights claims.

 

Career

Dr. Weber studied physics at the Rheinische Friedrich-Wilhelms University in Bonn, majoring in optics, medical physics and energy and environmental physics.  Following the completion of his diploma thesis in the field of optics, Dr. Weber worked as a Research Assistant at the Rheinische Friedrich-Wilhelms University Institute of Physics in Bonn and as a visiting scientist at the Caesar Research Institute in Bonn; the Caesar Research Institute is a research institute associated with the Max Planck Society which focusses on neurobiological and molecular biological research.  Prior to completing his Ph.D. in physics, Dr. Weber worked on high-resolution electron microscopy, the fabrication of metallic photonic structures, and worked in the teaching department at the Rheinische Friedrich-Wilhelms University in Bonn.

 

Dr. Thorsten Weber commenced his career in the field of intellectual property law in 2017 as a trainee patent attorney at a patent law firm in Cologne.  He thereby worked intensively on obtaining and defending technical IP rights in the field of automotive technology.

 

Dr. Weber is a German Patent Attorney, a European Patent Attorney, and a Representative for Intellectual Property before the Office of the European Union (European Design and Trademark Attorney. He joined KLUIN Patent in 2021.

 

Personal

Dr. Thorsten Weber is married and has two children.  He is fluent in German and English. He is a member of the German Association of Patent Lawyers, the EPI Institute of Professional Representatives at the European Patent Office, the International Federation of Intellectual Property Attorneys and the Federal Association of German Patent Attorneys (BDPA).

KLUIN PATENT Intellectual Property

UNSERE KANZLEI STELLT SICH VOR

DR. Thorsten Weber

Dr. Thorsten Weber ist promovierter Diplom-Physiker, deutscher Patentanwalt sowie zugelassener Vertreter vor dem Amt der Europäischen Union für Geistiges Eigentum.

 

 

Spezialgebiete
Herr Dr. Weber ist insbesondere auf den Gebieten der Elektromobilität, des allgemeinen Maschinenbaus, der Kraftfahrzeugtechnik sowie des Konsumgüterbereiches tätig. Er verfügt über mehrjährige Erfahrungen in sämtlichen Gebieten des gewerblichen Rechtsschutzes. Zu seinen Kernkompetenzen zählen insbesondere die Erwirkung, Verteidigung und Durchsetzung technischer und nicht-technischer Schutzrechte, Recherchen und Analysen zur möglichen Verletzung von Schutzrechten Dritter (Freedom To Operate) sowie die Abwehr von Schutzrechtsansprüchen Dritter.

Werdegang

Dr. Weber studierte an der Rheinischen Friedrich-Wilhelms-Universität Bonn Physik mit den Schwerpunkten Optik, Medizinphysik und Energie- und Umweltphysik. Nach seiner Diplomarbeit auf dem Gebiet der Optik arbeitete Dr. Weber als wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter am Physikalischen Institut der Universität Bonn und als Gastwissenschaftler am Forschungsinstitut caesar in Bonn, einem mit der Max-Planck-Gesellschaft assoziierten Forschungsinstitut, welches der Erforschung neuro- und molekularbiologischer Fragestellungen gewidmet ist. Bis zum Abschluss seiner Promotion im Fachbereich Physik beschäftigte sich Herr Dr. Weber mit hochauflösender Elektronenmikroskopie, der Herstellung metallischer photonischer Strukturen und war im Lehrbetrieb der Universität Bonn tätig.

 

2017 begann Dr. Thorsten Weber seine Laufbahn im gewerblichen Rechtsschutz mit einer Ausbildung zum Patentanwalt bei einer Kölner Patentanwaltskanzlei, wobei er sich intensiv mit der Erlangung und Verteidigung technischer Schutzrechte auf dem Gebiet der Kraftfahrzeugtechnik beschäftigte.

 

Seit 2021 ist Dr. Weber deutscher Patentanwalt und zugelassener Vertreter vor dem Amt der Europäischen Union für Geistiges Eigentum. Im gleichen Jahr trat er in die Kanzlei KLUIN PATENT ein.


Persönliches
Dr. Thorsten Weber ist verheiratet und hat zwei Kinder. Er beherrscht die deutsche sowie die englische Sprache. Er ist Mitglied der deutschen Patentanwaltskammer und des Bundesverbandes Deutscher Patentanwälte e.V.